Flower Focus

This is one of the flowers in a vase in our foyer.

DSCN4645

I absolutely love the way that this photo turned out.

In PicMonkey while editing this photo I thought I would try something new. I wanted a way that the flower would be the main focus. So I decided I would make the background black and white and manually color in the flower. So after auto adjusting, making the sharpness go up to 40 and the clarity 50, I went to the effects and clicked black and white. In the black and white menu you have the option to color certain parts. This was perfect for the situation. Instead of just selecting a random color of red and just start blindly coloring away, I found that you could select the “original” color option. This would make it so whenever you color it would go back to the way it looked before in the area you are painting. From there I outlined the flower and started coloring. Once I thought I was done I checked it by clicking the reverse option. Doing this would make the flower completely black and white and only have red where I missed some spots. This was the perfect way of checking.

By adding this effect to your photos you now simply have a way to make any part of your picture stand out.

3 thoughts on “Flower Focus

Leave a comment